You can scroll the shelf using and keys

The Forrest of Hands and Teeth Review

December 29, 2015

The Forest of Hands and Teeth (The Forest of Hands and Teeth, #1)The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Mary lives in a society surrounded by a chain linked fence and a horde of zombies, but this is the least of her worries. Mary has found herself lost and struggling to discover who she is and what she wants.

I went into this book thinking I was going to be reading a zombie book of epic proportions. I was excited and eager, then I found myself disappointed, oh so very disappointed. This is not a zombie novel, this a story about the heroine vs. God, the heroine vs. herself and then there is a love triangle that just lives the reader agitated.

First of all, Mary makes me want to pull my hair out. She is indecisive, selfish and infuriating. Her life would be so much better if ‘xyz’ would happen, then when it finally does she is still unhappy. It isn’t enough for her. This novel is dedicated to her pity parties and it makes me want to hit her. She agonizes over her faith, she agonizes over love, she agonizes over stories her mother told her that may or may not be true. And the rest of the people around her are just struggling not to starve to death or be zombie chow. Seriously? I can’t even remember disliking a main character so much. I finally reached the end of my rope of patience for her and had to put the book down.

The rest of the characters in this story aren’t nearly as infuriating, but they don’t seem to leave much of an impression either. They are mainly just background noise and pawns for the main character to use and abuse.

This story had the potential to be amazing, the setting was right for a dystopian, post apocalyptic, story of survival, but instead the author used this as the backdrop for an angsty teenage love triangle. The story seemed to be suffering from confusion, because it frequently bounced between themes. Basically, it left me wondering what the heck I was reading.

I see several other readers gobbled this book up and loved it, I can not say the same. I’m giving this book 1 star.

View all my reviews

Thanks for Commenting!

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

