You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Blog Tour!!

May 13, 2015

lola_front_500x750

Lola Carlyle’s 12-Step Romance

by Danielle Younge-Ullman

Release Date: 05/05/15

Entangled Teen

Summary from Goodreads:

Lola Carlyle is lonely, out of sorts, and in for a boring summer. So when her best friend, Sydney, calls to rave about her stay at a posh Malibu rehab and reveals that the love of Lola’s life, Wade Miller, is being admitted, she knows what she has to do. Never mind that her worst addiction is decaf cappuccino; Lola is going to rehab.

Lola arrives at Sunrise Rehab intent solely on finding Wade, saving him from himself, and—naturally—making him fall in love with her…only to discover she’s actually expected to be an addict. And get treatment. And talk about her issues with her parents, and with herself. Plus she has insane roommates, and an irritatingly attractive mentor, Adam, who’s determined to thwart her at every turn.

Oh, and Sydney? She’s gone.

Turns out, once her pride, her defenses, and her best friend are stripped away, Lola realizes she’s actually got a lot to overcome…if she can open her heart long enough to let it happen.

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links:

AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo Books

Catching Up With Lola Carlyle

Thanks so much for hosting me. For today’s post, I caught up with my protagonist, Lola Carlyle, which is actually quite an accomplishment, given her talents for running away/sneaking around/hiding. But I guess I have some pull as her creator, and she’s agreed to answer a few questions.

Me: You were just in rehab. How was it?

Lola: Wild! I thought it was going to be more chill. Rehab-lite. And I wanted to rescue this boy, Wade Miller. I thought it would be pretty easy, and fun. Instead there were a lot of rules. I’m the type of person that considers a rule as more of an “obstacle” than something I actually have to follow, so I got into a lot of trouble. Overall, it was more than I bargained for, but I admit, life changing. It wasn’t what I wanted, but maybe what I needed.

Me: What were your fellow patients like?

Lola: Insane. Wait, did I say that? No, they were great. My roommate, Talia, has what they call “porous boundaries” which means she’s in your face all the time, never stops talking, over-shares like you wouldn’t believe. But she’s a sweetheart too. We went through a lot together. My other roommate, Jade, hated me, maybe deservedly. But she taught me that you never really know what someone is going through, so the best thing to do is not judge, and try to empathize. Even if you would rather kick them in the shins. (Uh, can you cut that last line? I’m still working on thinking before I speak.)

Me: It’s fine! Now what about swoon-worthy TV star, Wade Miller—the boy you wanted to rescue? How’d that go? What’s he like? Is he as hot in person as on TV?

Lola: Hotter. I’m not kidding. Hotter every time you see him, like a quickly progressing illness. (Don’t print that please, it’ll be bad for his ego.)

Me: So he has a big ego?

Lola: I didn’t say that! He’s lovely. He’s a sweet boy, deep down, but like everybody, he’s complicated. Hot and complicated. I might have kissed him. Might. That’s all I can tell you.

Me: What about your addiction? Can you talk about that?

Lola: You know, I had this therapist while I was there, whenever she thought you were lying, she would ring this bell in your face. She called it her “Bulls*#t Bell”. And now I have that bell in my head all the time, so I don’t think I should talk about my addiction. Or lack of. Except to say that I certainly have an addictive personality.

Me: What have you got to say about your mentor, Adam?

Lola: Adam was put in charge of me, to help me get settled. I was…hard to settle. He’s very concerned with rules and ethics and he was a total pain in my butt, and I was a bigger pain in his, I admit. But he made me think, too, and he was really there for me when I needed help. I came to….appreciate him. And he has no idea how cute he is.

Me: I’m getting the feeling you’d have liked to kiss him, too.

Lola: Oh, but that would have been against the rules…

danielle younge

About the Author:

Danielle Younge-Ullman is a novelist, playwright and freelance writer. She studied English and Theater at  McGill University, then returned to her hometown of Toronto to work as professional actor for ten  years. Danielle’s short story, Reconciliation, was published in MODERN MORSELS—a McGraw-Hill  Anthology for young adults—in 2012, her one-act play, 7 Acts of Intercourse, debuted at Toronto’s SummerWorks Festival in 2005, and her adult novel, FALLING UNDER, was published by Penguin in 2008.  Danielle lives in Toronto with her husband and two daughters.

Author Links:

WebsiteTumblrGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

Book Tour Organized by:

YA Bound Book Tours

Thanks for Commenting!

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

