You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Interview with author A.L. Davroe!!!

May 8, 2015

FEAT. A.L. Davroe Young Adult AuthorHello Lovelies!

I had the chance to interview A.L. Davroe! She has an exciting new book ‘Nexis’ to be release in December this year! And I for one am eagerly awaiting it’s release!!

Enjoy!!

-Brittney

Favorite book(s) read in the last year?

In the last year? Hm…I’ve been really into YA and MG lately and the one that is sticking with me the longest is The School of Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. I love that it’s a friendship story above all and I’m a sucker for good vs. evil with a twist. Plus, CLIFFHANGER ENDING!!! Gah, I both love and hate those. It’s a good thing the next books in the series were readily available…

Favorite movies?

Anyone who knows me knows I love fantasy, Sci-Fi, the whimsical, and the dark so it shouldn’t surprise you that pretty much anything by Tim Burton (Nightmare Before Christmas is the fav) or Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away is the fav) are on my favorites list. I’ve also really been enjoying Big Hero 6! That might have something to do with the favorite band answer down below…

Favorite TV shows?

I like pretty much anything Sci-Fi, fantasy, historical, or crime-ish. My biggies are Bones, GOT, Downton Abbey, Vikings, Supernatural, Doctor Who, and (don’t laugh at me) My Little Pony, Monster High, and Ever After High – thank goodness there are children in my life to give me an excuse to watch these. XD

Favorite bands/songs?

My favorite bands are A Perfect Circle, Delta Rae, and Fall Out Boy (who I have been a fan of since I was in high school and they were just starting out – yes, I do have the coveted original tees). As for favorite songs, that’s a hard one! Depends on the day, I guess? Obviously there are quite a few songs by my favorite bands that I’m obsessed with. Other than that, I have to say that Lorde’s “Royals” and Lana Del Rey’s “Born to Die” were both songs that really struck a deep cord the first time I heard them and still, to this day, do the same.

20150507_204943Favorite travel destinations so far?

I’ve traveled to almost every state within the United States and New Orleans is, hands down, my favorite place. I love architecture, art, music, and intrigue and NOLA is just jam-packed with all three. I’m also a huge foodie, so obviously this is a must for my pallet. If you ever go, I suggest The Court of Two Sisters. Not to mention that it’s WARM and has all that fabulous bayou (I have a weird obsession with Spanish moss)!!! Outside the U.S. I can’t really decide. I’ve been to France, Italy, Monaco, New Zealand, Australia, England, Ireland, Scotland, Canada, and Wales. Each place had something fabulous to offer and I don’t regret going anywhere! If you ever get a chance to travel, do it!!!

Where in the world would you like to go next?

My top-most place that I’d love to travel to is Japan. I’m a huge anime junkie and it has really made me have a deep appreciation for both Japanese culture and history. Let’s not forget my stomach and its massive need for all the Japanese goodies…Next to that I’d like to take a tour to some of my ancestor’s homes.

Do you have any pets?

I do! While I love all animals, I have cats because I travel a lot and keep strange hours so it’s easier to live with them. I had four, but one, Maxwell (tabby), just passed this Monday of cancer. He was the best cat in the entire world – was blind and acted like dog. That leaves me with Samwise (tuxedo), who – if he were human – would be a stereotypical prissy gay man. Diana (black) who only cares about food and getting pet – specifically while I’m typing. And Eliza (white), who while adorable is a hellion, but is the best lap cat any writer could ever want. Each is just as different as the last and I love them all!

Untitled design(6) Untitled design(7)

If you could be any fictional character from a book, movies or the television, who would you be and why?

I skipped this question about three times before eventually coming back to answer it last and I’m still not certain who I would be. There are so many possibilities and places and people…it seems unfair to make my little brain pick. It’s like that tease of a meme, “What door would you pick?” and it has choices for Narnia, Middle Earth, Wonderland, Hogwarts, etc. I’d be standing in the hall deliberating for the rest of my mortal life. So, I’m not going to get specific. I think that if I HAD to, I’d pick a situation like the Thursday Next series or the Inkheart trilogy where I could jump into books or bring elements of books into my world. I think that being a character that could travel to any book and be any character is obviously the best choice because then you’d never have to pick and you could experience everything from anyone’s point of view.

Everyone has a bit of an inner geek inside them, can you tell us what causes you to geek out?

Oh man. This is like pick a color, any color in my world. Everything makes me geek out, but I honestly don’t think I’m so fan-girl in love with anything or anyone to the point where I could get annoying about it. I love so many things that I feel that spreading the enthusiasm has made it so that I cannot be uber enthusiastic about just one thing. More often than geeking out I just get brain derailment from things that I get super excited about at that moment. Like, cookies and if my cat, Diana, goes belly up and makes eye-contact with me. I will stop my life for new episodes of MLP, MH, or EAH. Also, I’m disgracefully into genealogical research and religious mythology. If anything I’d be geeky about either of those subjects. Oh, and my books, obviously.

Now that we’ve gotten to know you better, can you tell us your inspiration for the Nexis?

Nexis was originally inspired when my agent and the owner of my then-agency were sitting with me at dinner during a conference and one of them asked me how I felt about a Steampunk Cinderella book. I immediately got the idea for a disabled Cinderella with mechanical legs. However, I was sort of done with Steampunk at the time, so I decided to try my hand at a futuristic Cinderella. I’m pretty sure that I channeled a lot of Tron and a lot of Matrix in this book, but a lot of it is cobbled together from the random bits of sfi-fi that I actually thought would be legitimate reality in the future. That’s my pet-peeve, futuristic stories that are crazy high-tech and people are still using cell phones or normal cars. LAME!

So, originally Nexis was an awesome futuristic Cinderella story featuring a girl with mechanical limbs!

If you’re reading this and thinking, “Huh, that sounds like Cinder, then you’d be correct. I finished Nexis about a week before the purchase of Cinder was announced on Publisher’s Marketplace and I was devastated. I held onto the Cinderella notion for a quite some time, hoping against hope that it wouldn’t be too much like Cinder. However, it soon became clear that the publishing world wasn’t going to accept a concept anything close to Cinder’s (even though, having read Cinder, they really weren’t much alike.) So, I rewrote Nexis. I actually kept most of the original story line because it had deviated a lot from the original fairytale. I just changed the obvious “Cinderella” bits. After that, it sold to Entangled Teen.

Did you listen to any particular playlist while writing Nexis?

You know, I make a playlist for all the books I write (you can listen to them on my YouTube account), but I usually make them after I am done writing the book and come across a song that reminds me of a part of the book. It has been quite some time since I wrote Nexis, but I believe that I was listening to a lot of dub step and electronic stuff when I wrote it. So, obviously in my head the scenes are very epicly action packed and there’s a lot of black and glowie-stuff.

For you, what was the hardest part of breaking into the publishing world? When did you know you’d made it?

Oh geez, sometimes I’m still not even sure I’ve made it. Like, I can’t believe it. It’s got to be a joke. I had such a hard time breaking into publishing that I keep looking over my shoulder and thinking someone is going to take it away! LOL!

But, seriously, I suppose the hardest part was and still is the waiting. It’s always a lot of hurry up and wait. No matter what level you are on, you are always waiting on someone else…And me being the sort of person who gets things done last Tuesday, I can’t stand it. I swear I can feel myself aging while I stare at my email box waiting for someone to get back to me about something.

As for the serious answer to the other half of the question… I think that I will finally feel secure and believe it when I’ve got a few books out and have a solid fan-base that is actually waiting on the next book and talking to each other on Goodreads about this scene or that juicy book-boyfriend.

What’s next on your writing horizon?

I’ve always got a bajillion projects in the works. I can’t give concrete guarantees on anything because everything is in the publishing machine in one state or another. I can tell you that I’m contracted for another book in the Trickster’s series, so Nexis will have a sequel. I’m currently working on that. I also have two stand alone ideas for that world that I’m hoping my publisher will want to take on after the sequel is complete. I have another novel on submission that’s a YA paranormal romance that ties into my Hill Dweller series and depending on how that goes I may or may not self-publish another three books in that series that I’ve completed and have ready. And I’ve given my agent a YA horror that I’m very excited about, so that will hopefully be coming along at some point as well. In addition to that, I have an adult urban fantasy novel that I’m in the very slow process of editing and I’m writing an adult fantasy that ties into my City Steam series.

Thanks for Commenting!

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

