You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Slammed by Colleen Hoover

December 8, 2014 , , ,

Slammed (Slammed, #1)Slammed by Colleen Hoover

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Layken and her family are attempting to heal from the sudden loss of her father. When the financial responsibilities become too much, the family moves away from the life they have always known. Layken loathes the idea of moving and can’t wait for her senior year to be over so that she can flee back to Texas. Then she meets her neighbor, Will, and they instantly have a chemistry. Will asks her out and things are beginning to look up,. Until until something unforeseeable happens and rocks the couple to the core. Now, they have to painfully endure each other’s company daily while keeping each other at arm’s length.

This is my first Collen Hoover book., I have noticed they are pretty popular and I can see why. This book was a light, easy and quick read and sometimes I just need those. The characters were likeable, the storyline was sweet and the writing style kept me interested. Although, I had a few issues with it, overall I liked it pretty well.
The characters were very likeable, but I hate to say kind of boring. I liked both Will and Layken, but they were like plain oatmeal. Layken is a normal teenage girl, selfish, moody, and naïve. Will is a smart, caring and responsible guy. My two favorite characters in this book were their little brothers, Kel and Caulder, who left me laughing the entire book.

The story line was kind of sad, but I enjoyed it none the lessnonetheless. There were a few twists that I most certainly didn’t predict. I thought some parts were kind of slow, but most books are like that.

The writing was good, flowed easily and was quick to read.
I want to say I did not dislike this book; however, I’m not glowing over it either. I didn’t like the insta-love in this story, they fell in love in the time it takes to microwave popcorn. Also, I felt their relationship could have used some depth, they had deep feelings in a shallow relationship. I didn’t like the ending at all. It jumped forward to about a year in the future and just ended. I was like “what just happened?” It felt rushed, it went against the flow of the book, and I hated it. Overall, I would recommend this book for some light reading, but to me it was generic and okay.

I’m giving Slammed a 3 star rating.

View all my reviews

Thanks for Commenting!

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

