You can scroll the shelf using and keys

The Sham by Ellen Allen

October 19, 2014

The ShamThe Sham by Ellen Allen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Emily is a bit of a loner and is having difficulty adjusting to her new life in “the sham”(her new hometown). Then, one day a very strange and mysterious boy named Jack unexpectedly enters her life. As Emily attempts to learn more about the boy she is developing feelings for, the walls begin to close in on her. Girls are disappearing, and Jack is the police’s number one suspect.

Rollercoaster, this story is a complete rollercoaster.

When first picking up this book I had some issues with the writing style. It was murky and confusing at times. I had to re-read things in order to grasp a better understanding of what was going on. Also, when introducing new characters to the reader, the first person narrator knew things that are unusual for a first person narrator to know. This I didn’t particularly care for.

However, after about 50 or so pages the writing smoothed out and the story line began to pick up. I thought that the main characters were quirky and at times hilarious. I love the fact that when Emily is under stress she rambles on about properties and applications of quantum mechanics. The story line itself is intriguing and unpredictable. When I thought I had it figured out, something would happen that proved otherwise.

Furthermore, I find Allen’s similes witty, creative and at times hilarious.
“A lurid expression stamped on his face like he was watching a sex tape made in the final moments in Hitler’s bunker.”

In the end this book had many of the qualities I search for in a novel. It was witty, intriguing and unpredictable with underlying bits of humor. The characters had depth and intelligence. Furthermore, the ending was greatly unexpected and left me thinking long after I put it down.

I would like to make mention that I received a copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Thanks for Commenting!

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

