You can scroll the shelf using and keys

We were liars

August 31, 2014

We Were LiarsWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

I am really surprised that this book has as high of an overall rating as it does on goodreads, I have to say, I hated this book. Though looking through other reviews I am pretty much alone in this opinion.

First of all, I dislike pretty much every single character, from Cadence to the rest of them. They all were annoying and one dimensional. In my opinion it is an author’s job to make the reader care about the characters. If I don’t care about a books characters’ then the ending despite it being a surprise is lost on me.

Furthermore, I was bored out of my mind, I am honestly surprised I finished it, seriously. The writing is hard to follow at times. Then there are this ridiculous fairytales written throughout that book, pretty much once every chapter. The main character writes them “once upon a time…” Bleck. They literally made me grind my teeth. Then I just skipped them all together. Our narrator doesn’t grow, doesn’t become stronger, she’s just pathetic, and stays that way. The more I type this review and reflect on this book, the more I dislike it.

Don’t waste your valuable time reading this.

View all my reviews

Thanks for Commenting!

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Won’t waste mine. Great review Brit 😃

Like

Theresa P

August 31, 2014

