You can scroll the shelf using and keys

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

August 30, 2014

The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)The Jewel by Amy Ewing

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The Jewel is Ewing’s debut book, and it deffinitly leaves an impression.
In this novel, Violet lives in a society in which the royalty can no longer produce their own heirs without them dying shortly after birth or, being wildly deformed (most likely due to decades of inbreeding). The upper class’s solution is to test lower class areas of their land in order to find those most suitable to carry and birth their progeny. By doing so they rip these girls away from the only lives they have ever known, and treat them as less than dogs. Oh, but it’s completely okay because they give them material things in place of their freedom.

So, I would like to begin by stating that I did not hate this book, and before going on a long rampage about the things that upset me I would like to state the pros. First of all, I thought this story was creative, I give Ewing credit for her imagination. Her writing style is good as well, although sometimes wordy. Despite that it flows well, and is descriptive. I thought her world building was magnificent, she explained many things throughout her story. I wasn’t left scratching my head and wondering what on earth was going on. These are my two starts worth of pros.

I know, I know, all of that makes it sound like a five-star book. I can see where others may consider it so. However, the subject matter upset me, and for this I can only give it two stars. I did not for a moment like the treatment of women in this book. I can not even begin to express how disgusting it is to buy and sell people for your own selfish purposes truly is. I know that this is a real concern, a problem we face all over the world. However, I simply hate reading teen fiction about it. I guess then maybe I should have picked up this book, in the first place. I didn’t realize it would strike a chord in me the way that it did.

Also, I loathed the romance in this novel. They disliked each other and then five minutes later were in love.I know that at times dislike can spark romance, however, I doubt it’s in the time it takes to make instant oatmeal. I’m just saying.

I think this author has some wonderful potential and I will give her the benefit of the doubt and pick up one of her books in the future. I just simply wasn’t in love with the contents of this book.

View all my reviews

Thanks for Commenting!

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

