You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Poison Princess

July 2, 2014

5 out of 5 ✰✰✰✰✰

“Come, touch…but you’ll pay the price.”

Evie Greene is your typical high school teen, she has a wonderful boyfriend, and a best friend she adores. From a distance it would seem as though her life is perfect, except that she is having horrific hallucinations that have begun to unravel her life at the seams. Then her hallucinations turn into a reality and she has only the help of her wrong-side-of-the-tracks classmate to help her out.

Despite many other reviews that drag this book through the mud I would have to say it is one of my absolute favorites. This is the first Kresley Cole book I have read and I loved it. I loved the characters, the story line, and the writing style.

Firstly, I love Evie. In my opinion she has several redeeming qualities. She is very loving, she loves those around her without holding back. Granted her relationship with Jack is strained, but I think it’s because she is afraid to lose anyone else. Also, she grows as a person throughout the entire book. She grows into a strong, independent character in the end which I adore in a protagonist. I also liked other characters in this novel, such as her best friend Melissa who has a hilarious sense of humor, as well as Jack, although there were times when I liked Jack a little less.

Secondly, I loved the story line. Yes, this book is fantastical on a level that some people may not like. That’s fine. However, I found it to be enthralling and captivating. I literally couldn’t put this book down. I ate it all up in one sitting. I thought it was creative and different, which is a refreshing change from all the cookie cutter books out there.

Finally, I loved her writing style. I felt connected to the characters as well as the story. I thought the amount of detail was perfect. It wasn’t overwhelmingly or minimally detailed. I felt completely submerged in this story and its characters. I find that kind of writing to be a special talent that not all authors have.

I gave this book 5 stars because I hands-down loved it.

Thanks for Commenting!

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

